MINUTES OF THE ST. MARY'S COUNTY PLANNING COMMISSION MEETING CHESAPEAKE BUILDING * LEONARDTOWN, MARYLAND Monday, August 28, 2017

Members present: Howard Thompson–Chairman, Shelby Guazzo- Co Chair, Martin Siebert, Hal Willard, Clarke Guy, Joseph VanKirk, Patricia Robrecht and Caroline King, Alternate

Absent: None

Bill Hunt, Director, Kathleen Easley, Senior, Planner and Sandie Greene Recording Secretary were present from the Department of Land Use and Growth Management.

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Thompson at approximately 6:30 p.m.

APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES

Commissioner Joseph VanKirk made a motion to approve the Work Session minutes of July 31, 2017 with the requested changes: Commissioner Hal Willard's absence was excused and Commissioner Caroline King was not in attendance.

Commissioner Clarke Guy seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

Commissioner Hal Willard made a motion to approve the minutes of August 14, 2017. Commissioner Martin Siebert seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

PUBLIC HEARING

DISCUSSION

Chairman Howard Thompson requested a change to the order listed on the Agenda. First to be presented was the Amendment to the 2016 PC Annual Report with the July 2017 Educational Facilities Master Plan presented second.

1. Amendment to the 2016 PC Annual Report.

Speaker: Kathleen Easley, Senior, Planner of the Department of Land Use and Growth Management presented changes 2016 Planning Commission Annual Report. Ms.Easley stated the report can be found on the St. Mary's County website.

Changes included the following:

- Trends in Construction Table- originally only went to 2015, staff updated to include 2016.
- The Population by Election District was not originally reported, as it is not required, however it came to the staff's attention that the Alcohol Board uses this report, therefore it was added.
- Local Land Use Percentage Goal is proposed to be amended to remove any reference to the annual growth policy as the Commissioners of St. Mary's County rescinded the annual growth policy, (Ordinance 2016-22). These changes are shown on pages 10 and 11 of the report.

Exhibits:

- 1. Memorandum to the Planning Commission
- 2. Population Estimates and Projections by Election District Chart
- 3. Annual Report

Commissioner Martin Siebert made a motion to accept the changes to the 2016 PC Annual Report. Commissioner Patricia Robrecht seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

2. July 2017 Educational Facilities Master Plan

Speakers: J. Scott Smith, Superintendent, Dr. Jeff Walker, Assistant Superintendent of Supporting Services, Kimberly Howe, Director of Capital Planning and Mary Hayden, Capital Planning Program Analyst of St. Mary's County Public Schools

Exhibit

#1 Power Point Presentation - 2017 Educational Facilities Master Plan

Topics of Discussion included:

- Page 100, the chart reflects the percentage contributions from the State.
- New Elementary School on Rt 5; an explanation of why the demolition job was not released for bid and why was it awarded to an out of County Construction Crew.
- Will the new windows be listed under the new HVAC additions or with modernization of the school?
- Lettie Marshall Dent Elementary School- what type of tank is being replaced; an underground Oil Tank
- Roofing- replacement or repairs?
- Relocatable Buildings in the Northern Schools and why
- Solar Panels are being used at George W. Carver Elementary and being considered in other areas
- Redistricting of schools for over crowding
- The location for the new middle/high school combination

Commissioner Joseph VanKirk made the motion to accepted the July 2017 Educational Facilities Master Plan. Commissioner Patricia Robrecht seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

ADJOURNMENT

A motion to adjourn was made at approximately 7:35 p.m.by Commissioner Martin Siebert. Commissioner Clarke Guy seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

Approved in open session:

October 23, 2017

Howard Thompson Chairman

Sandie Greene

Recording Secretary